Showing posts with label RC Plane Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label RC Plane Reviews. Show all posts

09 May 2017

Auto Pilot RC Plane Drone - ArduPilot APM 2.8

ArduPilot APM 2.8 setup:
  1. Download Mission Planner from here. Mission Planner documentation can be found here.
  2. Connect the ArduPilot APM to the computer via USB cable.
  3. Open Mission Planner, select the comm port then click "Connect".
  4. If not working, go to Device Manager to update driver using driver under Mission Planner folder.
  5. Download firmware to the board (don't "Connect" to mission planner). Mission planner will automatically download the firmware from internet and upload the firmware to the board.
  6. See the wiring connections between the board and the other hardware. Here.
  7. Calibrate the board, radio and ESC. I skipped the ESC calibration. 
  8. Select flight mode. Flight mode descriptions are in here.
APM Features:
-  Arduino
-  3-axis gyro, accelerometer and magnetometer, along with a high-performance barometer
-  4 MegaByte Dataflash chip for automatic data logging
-  GPS, uBlox LEA-6H module with Compass
-  Open source autopilot systems to use Invensense 6 DoF Accelerometer /Gyro MPU-6000
-  Barometric pressure sensor MS5611-01BA03
-  Atmel ATMEGA 2560 and ATMEGA 32U-2 chips for processing
Auto Pilot - APM - Quadcopter
APM Mission Planner Screen Shot
Connected to computer with LEDs ON

14 August 2016

Scratch Built RC Plane -Subsonic Drone v2 Plane Design

Subsonic Drone build logs:
Click here to see the Subsonic Drone v1. Also see the Micro Drone V3 for all the overall dimensions.

I designed the plane in SketchUp which is (formerly Google Sketchup) a 3D modeling computer program for a wide range of drawing applications such as architectural, interior design, landscape architecture, civil and mechanical engineering, film, and video game design—and available in a freeware version, SketchUp Make.





Completed! Getting ready to maiden. 


Let's start building it! 

02 February 2016

Done Registration - for the USA


According to FAA, people who previously operated their UAS must register by February 19, 2016. People who do not register could face civil and criminal penalties.

I don't like it but better be safe than sorry.

Here are the links to FAA for Done or Unmanned Aircraft Systems (UAS) registration.

https://www.faa.gov/uas/registration/

FAQs for the registration - https://www.faa.gov/uas/registration/faqs/

Here are some information about general rules for operating model aircraft.

https://www.faa.gov/uas/model_aircraft/

18 October 2015

FPV Goggle - Cheap Quanum

This is the most economical FPV Goggle I have seen so far. Only USD $29.99. It has a 4.3 inches screen with all parts included. Here is the link to the FPV Goggle.

FPV Goggle
FPV Goggle no Blue Screen




27 December 2012

Scratch Built Plane - SubsonicDrone v1

Part 1 video - Just finished the preliminary design of my first RC plane which has the basic elements of Skywalker and Micro Drone v3. I am using SketchUp to model the this plane.

Part 2 video - Added parts and electronics that include:

Subscribe my SubsonicHobby YouTube channel for the latest development. As always, your ideas and comments are welcomed.

Part 1



Part 2

01 December 2012

FPV success


Finally I finish the FPV setup on EZ Hawk. Also maiden the plane with the setup. Success!!!

FPV video

FPV Setup

FPV
Modified the G-OSD II to CL-OSD.

22 November 2012

Scratch Built - Micro Drone V3

Here is the finished Micro Drone V3.

Maiden with 2.5 inches CG from leading edge. Using 2213N 800kv motor and 3S 1000mAa LiPo. The motor does not have enough speed but enough torque. I am considering to change the motor to 1450kv motor to speed the plane up.

Here are the part list:




Micro Drone V3
4 inches KFm2 chord. You can find more knowledge about KFm wing profile here.

24 October 2012

HobbyKing ASW 28 Glider Defect and review

This is a review of the ASW 28 glider from HobbyKing.

Overall, it is the worst plane I have ever bought. It is a defected plane. This seems to be a known issue for sometimes, but HobbyKing elects to ignoring it and continues to sell them. The worst is that HobbyKing ignores the responsibility of selling bad stuff.

I agree with getting what you pay for, but cheap products mean bad quality, unreliable or bad performance, but cheap products should not be defective and malfunctions.

I contacted HobbyKing and they asked me to ship it back in my own cost. It would cost me USD$90.00 to shipping it back. The plane cost USD$ 99.00. Would you pay the $90.00 to ship back which isn't your fault?

HobbyKing should take the responsibility for all deflective products, because we (customers) pay HobbyKing as a middle man to deal with Chinese manufactures. We pay HobbyKing to take the low cost manufacture risks. This means HobbyKing doesn't do their job right. They are taking advantage from cheap labors and low cost manufactures; they are also taking advantages from selling around the world without worries of any consumer law.


26 August 2012

Pilot-1 Wedell-Williams 1/8 Scale ARF

Specifications:
Length: 31"
Wingspan: 40"
Flying Weight: 35 oz.
Controls: Ailerons (2 servos), Elevator, Rudder, Throttle
Wing Area: 325 sq. in


Red Bull Edge 540 RC Plane

Specifications:
Wingspan: 1000mm
Length: 930mm
Recommended Motor: 28mm out runner
Controls: Aileron (2 servos), Elevator, Rudder and Throttle.
Features all wood, light weight construction
 bought it from hoelleinshop .
Prop:11 x 5.5
ESC: 30amp

Unbox

Maiden




Some photos here